my children have a very different experience with pop culture than I did…

I wasn't allowed to listen to "secular" music. I started listening secretly to the radio when I was in the 6th grade or thereabout. My girls (7 and 4) have been dancing around all day singing Fireflies by Owl City, know most of the lyrics to Hungry Like a Wolf by Duran Duran and Debbie Harry is one of Shayel's favorite musicians. They also know that Elton John is married to a man and have absolutely ZERO notion that that would somehow not be perfectly ok. I'm happy with these differences.

One thought on “my children have a very different experience with pop culture than I did…

  1. We turn the radio way up when Fireflies comes on and I think of my sneaking the secular music days and how much more enjoyable it is that I can enjoy the music with my children.

Leave a Reply

