goal!

Wow. I actually did it. I discovered when I did my weekly weigh-in today that I'm at 150 – my goal.  I lost 15 pounds since the end of January, 10 since I joined Weight Watchers online at the end of Feb. I was at the top end of a normal BMI for my height before and am now on the bottom end. I have also made some major lifestyle changes. I have not had meat since Easter and am mostly egg and dairy free. (still eat cheese and eggs for breakfast occasionally, not sure if I'll go fully vegan or not, we'll see)

In addition, I've exercised most days since Feb. and have done cardio/weight circuits 6 days a week for the past 3 weeks and have lost 2.5 inches from my waist and hips and 1 inch off my thighs and arms. (unfortunately, I also lost 2 inches from my bust – oh well, there's always a trade off) I also went from a size 10-12 to a solid size 6.

I'm glad to be smaller and less jiggly and feel more like my 20-year-old/before-2-kids self but the most exciting thing for me is how strong and healthy I feel. I attribute that to eating less sugar and processed foods (just by default since those things take up too many weight watchers points), eliminating most dairy (I've always had an intolerance to dairy that I usually just ignored) and doubling my daily intake of fruits/veggies/legumes/whole grains.

My new goal is an additional 5 pound loss and another half to one inch off my thighs/hips (where I store most of my extra weight). After that I plan to keep things pretty much the way they are, letting myself eat a little more but keeping all my habits the same.

It feels good to have done this for myself, to start 2010 in a way that is empowering and makes me feel saucy 🙂 I think differently about food and I know it's something I'm going to have to be mindful of for the rest of my life (me and food have had a very unhealthy relationship most of my adult life) but I feel good about a powerful start. 

Leave a Reply

