‘Reasonable Suspicion’ in Arizona – Kathy Khang – God’s Politics Blog

My college girlfriends and I had considered Arizona as a spot for a 40th b-day bash, but I’m not sure we’d pass muster. We’ve all been questioned before. We’ve all been told one way or another that for some reason that surely has absolutely nothing to do with race, color, or national origin that we just don’t look like we belong.

It usually goes something like this…

Someone trying to make conversation with me: “Where are you from?”

Me: Oh, I’m from (fill in the blank  – Chicago, Seattle, Columbus, Portland, Phoenix, Flagstaff).

Same Someone: No, I mean where are you REALLY from.

Me: Huh?

Still that Same Someone: You know. Where are you FROM?

The only place I knew as “home,” as the place I was from, was Chicago. Why wasn’t that answer enough? Because I don’t look or sound like a Chicagoan? Just ask me to say “hot dog” and “beer.” I’ve got Chicaaahgo.

Being told in so many words in so many ways that you don’t belong, that you couldn’t possibly be from where you say you are actually from, can make you reasonably suspicious of people who ask the “where are you from” question.

But now the “where are you from” question takes on an entirely different level of fear, intimidation, and distinction. Will all American citizens living in Arizona or traveling through/in Arizona, as a precautionary measure and to be in full compliance will the law, carry proof of their immigration status? You’re not an immigrant so you don’t need to carry identification? Prove it.

read it all here blog.sojo.net

3 thoughts on “‘Reasonable Suspicion’ in Arizona – Kathy Khang – God’s Politics Blog

  1. Ahhh… another proud moment to be an Arizonan! I can carry a concealed gun into a bar and rat out a migrant worker. We went to the rally at our state capital yesterday and, in an instance I’ll not soon forget, an older hispanic man said in broken english, “Thank you for supporting me.” I found a brother in him.

  2. It’s open season on brown people in AZ now and I wouldn’t be surprised if other state governments dominated by Republican legislators will soon try to follow suit.

Leave a Reply

