Gay Men’s Sexism and Women’s Bodies

See on Scoop.itElevating Our Collective Humanity

Some believe that since gay men do not want to be sexually intimate with women, our uninvited touching and groping is benign.

Makeesha Hall Fisher‘s insight:

I haven’t ever seen/heard this brought up but it’s something I have definitely observed. In fact, I’ve seen it and experienced it in clothing stores the most. I remember a Gap I was in once where a young man was moving freely in and out of the women’s changing area and being very forward with touching (without permission) the female customers as he offered fitting advice. Not one of the several women I observed confronted him or even tried to back away aggressively but all of them looked uncomfortable about the experience. To me, one thing this signifies is the importance of understanding that consent about what you can do with a another person’s body is not about sex.

See on everydayfeminism.com

Leave a Reply

